I want a red lipstick…..not!

Yep, it never fails when the holiday comes that countless people come to the counter to say  “I want a red lipstick”! Typically it’s the customer who never wears makeup or they come with a totally nude face and expect the red lipstick to look normal on them. We have about 7 different reds but for some reason they can’t spot them out. We’ll show them a few different reds and it usually goes something like this.

Customer : “I’m looking for a red lipstick”

BA: “Do you want a matte, shiny, or creamy?”

Customer: “I don’t know. Just something to look good with my skin tone”.

So as you pull various ones out to try one the first thing they do is smear it on their lips and panic.

BA: “You really need a lip liner with red lipstick otherwise it will look a hot mess. Also just a dab of lipgloss will really make it perfect” .

Customer: “No, I don’t use lip liner, I just put a little chapstick on before”.

BA is thinking….What the heck does chapstick have to do with a lip liner?  They want your opinion but then don’t want it. We’re just trying to help them out to get that perfect red lip and up go the walls. Painting a red lip  without anything else on a bare face is a sure fire way for the customer who doesn’t want to refine it and make it look right head straight out the doors like there’s a fire on their butt.

Customer: “Maybe I don’t want a red lipstick. I’ll come back later”.

And maybe you won’t because you just want to slap the red on without making it look right. We really are there to help you. Just let us.

Sometimes the “looking for a red lipstick” is really “I’m looking for a nude lipstick”.

 

 

This entry was posted in makeup cosmetics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I want a red lipstick…..not!

  1. Qedrin says:

    Omg! You have no idea how much this post speaks to me. My favorite is showing a red and then get the response “oh no that is to red”. I am like huh? Show them all the reds…. They hate them all. What do they end up with? It’s normally a pink or a nude. I seriously what to smack them.

    • makingup3000 says:

      Oh yea. The “this is too red for me” reply haha. I forgot about that one. Let’s smack them together.

      • Qedrin says:

        Sounds like a plan. LOL And can you believe no one asked me where the bathroom was today? Shocking! Yesterday deep into several makeovers I got the interuption several times while there were several employees not doing anything. Geez….

      • makingup3000 says:

        Omg. Yes, sometimes I think they want you to walk them to it because they can’t understand the simple direction of “over there to the left”.

Leave a Reply

