Ask your husband……say what?

Today this customer came in to exchange her set of 5 lipglosses because she didn’t like all the colors. When we told her you couldn’t pick or choose the colors in the set that’s just how they come~ but you can exchange the whole set for a different color set she couldn’t decide and left saying…..”I’m going to bring my husband tomorrow and ask him”.

That is wrong in so many ways. O.K. there is the rare metro husband/boyfriend who knows his colors and has a fashion sense. But let me tell you……(I feel like that was in a raspy  Clinton voice) most husbands/boyfriends not only can’t tell the difference in colors or if they look good…they simply don’t care!!

I can’t tell you how many times someone will try on a lipstick color,  foundation or any other cosmetic, look in the mirror and then turn to bored husband/boyfriend for their opinion only to see them look dumbfounded and say  “I don’t know”  or “I can’t tell the difference” or just “yeah, that looks good” so they can get away from the counter as fast as their skinny legs can take them  because it is as foreign to them as the women’s toiletries aisle. I mean come on. Do they take you to Home Depot and ask for your opinion on what drill bit is going to go best with their drill? “Honey, do you think I should get the 1/4 inch or 1/2 inch?”  Seriously, if you need your glazed over husband/boyfriend to decide for you…..I don’t know where that’s going to lead to.

This entry was posted in makeup cosmetics. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ask your husband……say what?

  1. emjayandthem says:

    laughed out loud at this .. although my hubbs has been known to slip a cherry red lipstick in my Christmas stocking b/c that’s what HE likes … as I get older, bright red is a little harsh for my fair complexion but I humor him by using it on the weekends .. at home .. where only he can see it. (( I have a fear of answering the door and looking like that little old lady on the little Ceasar’s commercial .. with the super big red lip outline – eek!) ~Happy day!

    • makingup3000 says:

      Funny that he likes red and if he only knew how hard it is to put on. But I have to say that red is classic and looks great in group pictures because you’ll always stand out.

  2. lilyisatig3r says:

    Ahem. Your post made me laugh out loud because I actually tried to ask my boyfriend once whether he thought I needed foundation. His classic response, of course, was: “Babe I don’t think you need foundation period… what is that even? For your face?” Ahh…. boys.

  3. makingup3000 says:

    Sorry, that was my feeble attempt at a joke. Because it happens so much. When I said “Thanks for stopping by” I meant my blog. I can see how you were confused and took me literally. haha.

  4. haha love this! trust me we dont want to give any advice 😛 not that we now anything anyway!

  5. Fortunately I know about drills… unfortunately my boyfriend still doesn’t know about makeup…

Leave a Reply

